M016-our-history.jpg

ABOUT US

Our history

Our lead smelter started life in 1906, when investors founded Metallwerke Unterweser AG in the district of Friedrich-August-Hütte. Ores from other European countries and from overseas were sent there to be smelted. 

Our first zinc furnace went into operation in 1908, and we started processing secondary lead raw materials in 1912. In 1914, Grand Duke Friedrich August II then authorised the smelting of lead ores – i.e. to produce primary lead. At that time, the smelter employed around 750 people.

Despite a series of adversities such as world wars, economic crises and natural disasters, the lead and zinc smelters managed to survive over the decades. The number of employees, which had fallen during the various crises, rose again, and in 1956 there were about 850 employees working at the factory.

The smelter was the largest employer in Nordenham; in 1960 Preussag AG became the new owner.

From the 1970s onwards, the issue of environmental protection became increasingly important. Tens of millions were invested in new technologies and measures to protect the environment over the coming decades. The plants have been continuously adapted to reduce emissions and increase production capacity. For example, the construction of a new shaft furnace ensured that lead production could be greatly increased: to 70,000 tonnes per year.

In 1988, Preussag AG founded Metaleurop together with French mining group Penarroya, which from then on headed the lead and zinc smelters. The commissioning of a bath smelting furnace in 1996 marked a milestone for the lead smelter: entry into lead recycling. More than 70,000 tonnes of lead are now extracted from secondary material in Nordenham every year.

In 2003, Metaleurop sold the zinc smelter to the mining company Xstrata, a subsidiary of the Glencore Group. The lead smelter remained in Metaleurop’s hands so the two smelters were now operated separately from each other. In 2007, Metaleurop became Recylex S.A. and the lead smelter became Weser-Metall GmbH. 

Since 2021, the lead smelter has also belonged to the Glencore Group under the new name Nordenham Metall GmbH. So after almost 20 years, the lead and zinc smelters are once again united under one roof. Today, more than 100,000 tonnes of lead are produced in Nordenham every year. With a reduction furnace, it can flexibly process low-lead precursors and extract more precious metals such as silver, gold and platinum.

M016-our-history.jpg

ÜBER UNS

Unsere Geschichte

Die Geschichte unserer Bleihütte geht zurück bis ins Jahr 1906, als Investoren im Stadtteil Friedrich-August-Hütte die Metallwerke Unterweser AG gründeten. Erze aus dem europäischen Ausland sowie aus Übersee sollten dort verhüttet werden. 

Im Jahr 1908 ging zunächst der erste Zinkofen in Betrieb, die Verarbeitung sekundärer Bleirohstoffe startete im Jahr 1912. 1914 genehmigte der Großherzog Friedrich August II. schließlich auch die Verhüttung von Bleierzen – also die Produktion von Primärblei. Zu dieser Zeit beschäftigte die Hütte bereits rund 750 Mitarbeitende.

Trotz vieler Widrigkeiten wie Weltkriegen, Wirtschaftskrisen und Naturkatastrophen konnten die Blei- und die Zinkhütte über die Jahrzehnte bestehen bleiben. Die Zahl der Mitarbeitenden, die während der Krisen gesunken war, stieg wieder an, und im Jahr 1956 arbeiteten rund 850 Angestellte im Werk. Die Hütte war der größte Arbeitgeber in Nordenham; im Jahr 1960 wurde die Preussag AG neue Eigentümerin.

Ab den 1970er Jahren gewann das Thema Umweltschutz immer mehr an Bedeutung. Zweistellige Millionenbeträge wurden in den kommenden Jahrzehnten in neue Technologien und Umweltschutzmaßnahmen investiert. Die Anlagen wurden stetig weiterentwickelt, um Emissionen zu senken und die Produktionskapazitäten zu erhöhen. Unter anderem sorgte der Bau eines neuen Schachtofens dafür, dass die Bleiproduktion stark gesteigert werden konnte: auf 70.000 Tonnen pro Jahr.

Im Jahr 1988 gründete die Preussag AG zusammen mit dem französischen Montankonzern Penarroya das Unternehmen Metaleurop, das fortan an der Spitze der Blei- und Zinkhütte stand. Die Inbetriebnahme eines Badschmelzofens im Jahr 1996 markierte einen Meilenstein für die Bleihütte: den Einstieg ins Bleirecycling. Bis heute werden in Nordenham pro Jahr über 70.000 Tonnen Blei aus Sekundärmaterial gewonnen.

Zum Jahr 2003 verkaufte Metaleurop die Zinkhütte an das Bergbauunternehmen Xstrata, eine Tochter der Glencore-Gruppe. Die Bleihütte blieb dagegen im Besitz von Metaleurop, sodass beide Hütten nun getrennt voneinander betrieben wurden. 2007 wurde aus Metaleurop die Recylex S.A., aus der Bleihütte die Weser-Metall GmbH. 

Seit 2021 gehört die Bleihütte unter dem neuen Namen Nordenham Metall GmbH ebenfalls zur Glencore-Gruppe. Somit sind die Blei- und Zinkhütte nach fast 20 Jahren wieder unter einem Dach vereint - zum Standort Glencore Nordenham. Über 100.000 Tonnen Blei werden heute pro Jahr in Nordenham produziert; ein Reduktionsofen ermöglicht darüber hinaus die flexible Verarbeitung von bleiarmen Vorstoffen und die vermehrte Gewinnung u. a. von Edelmetallen wie Silber, Gold und Platin.